Solitude

Loneliness is a strong emotion. I feel it most pronounced on the occasions when I get insomnia and you hear just the house cracking and popping and the mice chewing. It is just you against the world; you feel as if sleep is fled to the hills for refuge, a thousand miles away. Mocking, “You can’t go to sleep no matter what you do.”
Then there is another kind of lonely feeling that takes place in a crowd. This is one where you don’t know a single soul. I have often felt this kind of loneliness while traveling: the greater the crowd of unknown people the more pronounced the feeling. I have often thought, “I just wish that I could go up and introduce myself to some of these people. However,  I don’t do it. They would think I was off my rocker, and for sure I was going to embarrass myself.” So what I would do do is go on besides my business swallow the lump in your throat. Doing this while endure the same-old feeling until I would get busy enough with your activities to make it go away for a while.
Another kind of loneliness, and this is a good kind is what one feels when out in the woods or wilderness a very long way away from everyone else. This is the kind of loneliness that everyone needs. Another name for it is, solitude, and it is the anthesis of the bustling crowds of urban life and also all the human filth that goes with them. That is why I love to hunt and fish out in the quietness of the wilderness. In town, it is a wilderness too, just a different kind.
Then there is the bleakness of the outcast or the old person. This person just feels that the world has forgotten about them and has minimized them out of the circle of important people. Have you ever felt what it is like to be minimized? I have, and yet I did it myself a few years back. What our society needs is not food, not shelter nor things. They greatly need to feel like someone else thinks they exist and cares that they do. This is the “throw away” society and people are part of the throw away items. How many old people, and I mean people who have worked all their lives are put in nursing homes out of convenience rather than necessity. How many children are put in cages of nursery until is convenient to take them out and play with them. They are more like toys than responsibility. And most of the time we are so absorbed in making more money to buy more toys that we forget that they are persons too. Do we have to wonder why some children do not respect their parents? However, judgement comes on all generations for their life style, because, a few short years, and they will be able to enjoy the old folks lifestyle, I wonder how enjoyable it will be.

About tladotse

I am a retired Electronics Engineer who specialized in circuit design, antenna design, reliability and maintainability. I am an amateur radio operator and also have hobbies of fishing and photography. Getting kinda old but still get around pretty well.
This entry was posted in Homespun philosophy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Solitude

  1. Oh, I forgot…I agree with you about the solitude in the wilderness. I feel most at peace in the outdoors. There is no greater feeling than being on the open water fishing, boating, jet skiing, tubing, etc. Sometimes I like to go on a hike at FDR park not far from where I live. The forestry is beautiful…waterfalls, mountains…doesn’t get any better than that!

Leave a Reply

